Grapefruit and other killers

To say that we have complicated medical regimes is like saying that waves have a slight tendency to err on the larger side in a tsunami. 99% of the time I ably coordinate what meds I’m taking and when but these last few weeks have been the other 1% of the time that I just can’t get it together.

There’s a few reasons for this. 1) My usual medication routine has altered slightly and challenged my feeble brain. 2) I’m on holidays and am struggling with big picture stuff like, you know, what year it is. 3) We have several medications in our possession that have drug interactions. Orkambi can’t be taken with Itraconazole. Itraconazole can’t be taken with Clarithromycin. Clarithromycin can’t be taken with Orkambi. Ciprofloxacin must be taken on an empty stomach with no calcium or Esomeprazole within two hours. Grapefruit and Seville oranges are contraindicated with some of our meds and are the little-known and silent killers in a supermarket near you. Our medications now require more planning than a special ops military caper.

I’ve been randomly missing drug doses and delaying meals in a clumsy effort to try and have the right meds at the right time – that is, as far away from meals and interacting drugs as possible. It’s been an inadvertent experiment about how little I can eat and what medications I can accidentally skip and still remain alive.

Dave’s medication regimen has altered much more wildly than mine of late but he’s been doing an absolutely stellar job and keeping it all together. Like. A. Boss. His secret? He will tell you it has something to do with commitment, perseverance, proactivity, and a desire to avoid lung transplantation. But no. I think the real secret is: no Netflix. Season final cliffhangers have a nasty habit of distracting me from crucial lunchtime meds.

This... WORKED! Dave is back in peak vacuuming and dog walking form.

Three antibiotics and six weeks later… this plan worked!

The upshot of all this medication juggling is that we are both well. Dave is back in peak vacuuming, dog-walking and grocery-shopping form. When I finish a run no one asks me if they need to call an ambulance anymore. It’s the little things.

I’m going to call our medication juggling a win.

One thought on “Grapefruit and other killers

Leave a Reply

